My Priorities Have Changed. It’s NOT All About Me!

Sometimes the priorities in your life dictate where you are and what you do even when you really want to do something else. Today I was all set to attend a conference about evangelism. I’d been looking forward to it for over a month. I absolutely love sharing the Word of God with people and feel called to be used in this way. But the events of the past week have made it necessary I stay home serving my family instead. Family trumps ministry to me. We all live by priorities, even if we don’t verbalize them or even think about them. My priorities used to be more common. I put myself and my job first and gave my left overs to my kids, wife and God. The Lord has changed my thinking and I believe my priorities now are much more in line with what God wants them to be. So what is the order of my priorities you ask?

1) God. He is first. I trust Him, worship Him and follow Him irregardless of circumstances.

2) My wife. Other than God, she’s my priority. She comes before everything and everyone. My partner for life, whatever she needs is always crucial to me.

3) My children. They need me to provide and protect but also discipline, guide and set an example for them. Showing my boys how to be men and my girls what a man looks like for them when they are considering their future husband. Yes showing my kids what a godly marriage looks like is one of the many important things I must do. I’ve struggled with that but the Lord continues to help me. My goal with the kids is to help them know the Lord and then encourage them to choose to follow Him on their own volition. Law abiding and productive citizens able to provide for themselves while loving their neighbors and fearing God, yup that’s the goal.

4) My job. Seriously many people have this in the wrong spot. They believe their job provides for their needs so they live like their lives depend on it and put work above all else. Actually God provides for your needs through your job (amongst others methods) so you insult Him by turning your job into an idol. I used to to think this way too, so I understand the mindset but I’m glad to have my priorities in line. The job is important but not above the people above. I trust the Lord more than my boss.

5) Ministry work. I love to serve the Lord by doing volunteer work however my job does come before these activities. Sharing, singing, teaching and manual labor all are ways I feel compelled to serve but when my wife, children and or my job need me, they come first.

6) Self. My hobbies and or resting. This is where I stand. Last on my list. My needs are met. The Lord takes care of me. My wife takes care of me. My children help me. My job helps me. My church family helps me. It’s so easy to be selfish and put yourself first and I did just that for far too long. God changed my mind for the better and I’m glad.

So here I am not at evangelical conference this morning, after missing four days of work. I’m here at home, looking forward to a day of service and providing my wife a much needed rest, to encourage her to heal from her surgery and at the same time train up my kids by example. Lessons about life come from more than just words or thoughts expressed on Face Book. Priorities aren’t just what you say and write, but they are mostly what you do.

My priorities are securely in place, even though I still struggle to execute them the way I want. I thank God for putting them in the proper order in my brain, so I can live more closely the way He wants me to. He is good. His ways are perfect. I’m not perfect, but I’m trying to be better. I’m so glad the Lord has never given up on me. Oh what a Savior.

About Ira Bowman

I am a happily married man, blessed to be the father of eight children. I have trusted Jesus as my Savior. I live my life to be more like Jesus and less like the world, because He died so I could live. Even though I have sinned many times and in many different ways, I am forgiven and will spend forever with Jesus thanks to the promises of God in the Bible via verses such as Ephesians 2:8-9 and Romans 10:9-13. Now I hope to serve God and shine His light so others may know Him and likewise follow the Lord.

Leave a comment